Mr. A. Birkhofer



Personal data

Born 23.02.1934 in Munich Widower, one son

Academic Education

1958 Dipl.Ing., Electrical Engineering, Technische Universität München
1964 Ph.D., Theoretical Physics, University Innsbruck Austria
1967 Habilitation, Faculty of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering,
Technische Universität München and venia legendi for control engineering

Employment

1958–1963 Engineer at Siemens Munich and at the Technical Supervisory Institute (Technischer Überwachungsverein) Munich

1963–1971 Head of the new laboratory for nuclear power control and plant safety at the Technische Universität München with main research activities in Reactor Dynamics and Thermal Hydraulics

1971 Call at the chair of Reactor Dynamics and Reactor Safety at the Technische Universität München (a. o. Professor)

- 1975 Ordinarius and director of the Institute Reactor Dynamics and Reactor Safety (Full Professor and lifetime appointment); since 2002 Professor Emeritus
- 1977–2002 Managing Director of the Institut for Nuclear safety and Plant safety (GRS) (Cologne) (GRS is an expert and research organisation with about 500 employees)

Since 2002 Managing Director, Institute for Safety and Reliability (ISaR), Technische Universität München

Professional Honours

- 1983 Doctor Honoris Causa (Dr.-Ing. E.h.) of the University of Karlsruhe
- 1998 Doctor Honoris Causa of the RWZ Kurchatov Institute Moscow
- 2001 Decoration "Maximiliansorden" for Science and Arts of the State of Bavaria
- 1976 Otto Hahn Award of the City of Frankfurt
- 1984 Wilhelm Exner Medal of the Austrian Business Association Vienna
- 1993 Award of the Aachener and Munich price for Technology and Applied Sciences
- 1978 Cross of Merit of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
- 1987 Cross of Merit 1. Class of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
- 1994 Great Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
- 1987 Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur France
- 1988 Order of Merit of the State of Bavaria
- 1983 Fellow of the American Nuclear Society (ANS)
- 1989 Tommy Thompson Award, Nuclear Reactor Safety Division of the American Nuclear Society
- 1993 Honorary member of the German Nuclear Society (KTG)
- 1994 Honorary Fellow of the European Nuclear Society (ENS)

Academic Honours

- 1965 1998 Member and chairman of the German Reactor Safety Commission
- 1969 2000 Member of the Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI) of the OECD; Paris; chairman from 1978 to 1982
- 1973 2004 Member of the Committee for Science and Technology (CST) of the EU Commission; Brussels; chairman from 1984 to 1988
- Past Member of the Reactor Safety Commission of Austria at the Federal Chancellor of Austria
- Since 1986 Member of the International Nuclear Safety Advisor Group (INSAG) to the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA); Vienna; chairman from 1996 to 1999
- 1988 2003 Member of the Scientific and Technical Council of the Government of the State of Bavaria (Munich)
- 1991 2002 Scientific Council of the Bavarian research foundation (Munich)
- Since 1997 Chairman of the Nuclear Energy Safety Council of the President of the Republic of Armenia
- Since 1998 Member of the Conseil Scientifique d'Electricité de France (EdF) (Paris)
- Since 1998 Member of the Nuclear Safety Advisory Group of the Korean Peninsula Energy Development Organisation (KEDO); chairman form 1999 to 2002 (New York)
- Since 2000 Member of the presidency of the German Atomic Forum (Berlin)
- Since 1999 Member of the International Nuclear Energy Academy (INEA)
- Since 2003 Director of Energy Strategists Consultancy Limited (ESRL) (Potomac Maryland USA)
- Since 2003 Member of the International Committee on Nuclear Technology (ILK) of the States Bavaria, Hesse, Baden-Wuerttemberg
- Since 2002 President of the German-French Association for Science and Technology (Bonn)
- Since 2004 Member of the Advisory Committee of the International Risk Governance Council (IRGC) (Geneva)